Chocolate Anthills

I had a very ripe avocado that needed to be eaten. As it was not enough to make guacamole, nor did I want to make a smoothie, I figured it was time for a chocolate treat. I know some of you might cringe at the idea of chocolate and avocado, but the flavors actually blend quite well, and the avocado is not even noticeable other than the fact that it gives a nice creamy texture.

Image

I like being able to blend delicious and nutritious ingredients. Especially that I believe avocados to be such a great source of healthy fats that I believe my son needs in his diet, and he wont eat them alone at this point. But he devoured these anthills!!

Ingredients:

  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 1/4 cup cacao powder
  • 2 TBS honey, maple syrup or agave
  • dash of cinnamon (optional, but per my daughters request, cinnamon makes it’s way into a lot of our dishes)
  • 1 TBS melted coconut oil
  • 2 cups organic corn flakes (any other dry cereal will work fine I’m sure, such as crispy rice or even oats?)

Blend all but corn flakes in a food processor until smooth, transfer to a bowl and gently roll in the corn flakes. Line a tray with parchment paper or foil, create little mounds with the mixture and put in the freezer for about 30 to 45 minutes to set. If you are impatient you can just eat them as is!

They should stay good for a few days in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

