Basic Chocolate Sauce

This is my basic raw chocolate sauce that I use for so many chocolate treats in my house. I build off of this to create all kinds of delightful satisfying temptations. I need to share it with you guys as I will be referring to it quite a bit in this blog. I have used a version of it in my banana ice cream as well as in my raw persimmon pie. So stay on the lookout for more yumminess to come here!!

photo-131

As the name indicates, this is a basic, simple healthy chocolate option. Three ingredients and just minutes away from mouth watering bliss (if you are a chocoholic like I am, this is key).

photo-130

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup  cacao powder
  • dash of salt

Steps:

  • in a double boiler melt all the ingredients (you can do this in a pot on the stove top, just make sure to have it on very low heat and turn off the heat before all the oil is melted, and finish melting by whisking).
  • whisk together until well combined
  • either pour it in a jar with a tight fitting lid (this is my favorite option) or pour in in a bowl
  • if in a jar, shake it vigorously every 5 minutes until it has come to room temperature, the sauce will become thicker.
  • if in a bowl, just whisk it until it has come to room temperature.

This last step is very important as it will allow for all the ingredients to cool while blending together. If you do not do this the oil and honey will separate, creating a very sweet bottom layer and a very oily dark chocolate upper layer when it cools completely. This is especially important when making raw chocolate in the freezer. I have made raw chocolates without blending all the ingredients together and the honey layer was all gooey and stuck to the bottom of the mold while the top was super dark in chocolate flavor. It wasn’t bad at all mind you!! Just not a nice chocolate that I could easily pop out.

This sauce will keep for weeks on the shelf. It will become very thick because of the coconut oil. Just put the container you keep it in, in some hot water to soften it up before using. (Or just eat it out of the jar with a spoon!)

5 thoughts on “Basic Chocolate Sauce

  1. Pingback: Raw Persimmon Pie | Pamplemousse

  2. Pingback: bRAWnie bites | Pamplemousse

  3. Pingback: Banana Peanut Butter Ice Cream | Pamplemousse

  4. Pingback: Lemon Chia Pudding | Pamplemousse

  5. Pingback: Strawberry and Fig Compote | Pamplemousse

Leave a comment