Edible Body Scrub

I don’t know if that’s a good thing or not, but you could really eat this body scrub. All the ingredients in it are edible and it tastes good enough to eat, so why not take a spoon with you to the shower?

Little back story on this scrub: It was meant to be a whipped body butter. My friends and I had a little DIY holiday gift making session. One of things on the “menu” was a whipped body butter, amongst other things. When it was time to make it, we realized that my friend had picked up coconut butter, not cacao butter. BIG difference here. As the reality of the situation sank in, we decided to move forward with our creation and see how it goes. Unsurprisingly, coconut butter doesn’t whip like cacao butter does. Being a big rawfoodie, I knew that the texture of the coconut butter was going to be too grainy to ever create the luxurious smoothness of a body butter. So after unsuccessfully trying to whip this into a lotion, we decided to turn it into a scrub. At this point it just became super fun and creative. We didn’t really care what the end result would be as the process itself was interesting. We threw in whatever ingredients sounded nice together, adding some known things to make the scrubby feeling, and voila! I present you the Edible Body Scrub.

photo-166

I am sharing this with you not so much because I think you would want to try making it, but more to show you that screw ups can be quite quite fun, insightful, and surprisingly useful at times. Also to remind you that even when a recipe doesn’t turn out the way you expected, with a little creativity and imagination, you can usually find something else to make.

I was skeptical at how useful this scrub would be, but after using, I must say, I LOVE it!!! It definitely felt like a body scrub, and it definitely left my skin feeling smooth and hydrated afterwards. No need for lotion!! AND, I got to have a snack while in the shower, super bonus points for that.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup coconut oil
  • 1 cup coconut butter
  • several drops of grapefruit essential oils
  • 3/4 cup of oats
  • a handful of dried rosebuds
  • 1/3 cup of poppy seeds

Steps:

  • Melt the oil and butter together,
  • let harden for a bit
  • then mix well with a hand held electric mixer
  • add all other ingredients and mix with a spoon
  • store in a jar

We ended up splitting the coconut oil and butter once it was melted to make 2 different “flavors”. The other one we made was coffee coconut sugar. That’s the one that is dangerous on a spoon. It might never make it to my body if it stops any where near my mouth.

I have no idea how long this will keep. I will maybe come back and update this post once I find out.

Have you had epic fails that became surprisingly good?

5 thoughts on “Edible Body Scrub

  1. Success through failure, I’ve been there. My latest red chili recipe came about from using fresh, home canned tomatoes and sauce. It was way too acidic, so I increased the cumin, cocoa, and added Pb2. WOW! It turned out fabulous. I’m still laughing though, thinking about eating the product in the shower….:-)

Leave a Reply

