Nut-ella YUM!!

This simple recipe definitely gives the satisfaction of eating nutella without all the guilt! You can decide how much and what kind of sweetener you use and it is free of all those awful oils and added toxic ingredients that you find in most of the store bought ones.

Yes, there are now some much better versions out there, but the price?? Plus, to me, it’s always so satisfying being able to whip up something this delectable in my own kitchen, and sharing it with my kids.

My oldest helped with this and it gave us an opportunity to talk about why I don’t buy the popular brand and why I choose the quality ingredients that I do.

If you are a nutella lover, I believe you will enjoy this healthy take on it.

Enjoy!

 

IMG_3779

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup hazelnuts
  • 1 TBS coconut or macademia nut oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 125 ml (about 1/2 cup) coconut milk (I use the fatty one from a can)
  • 1/4 cup cacao powder
  • 80 ml (about 1/3 cup) of sweetener. I used a mix of honey and maple syrup. Honey is much sweetener than maple syrup, I f I were to use it exclusively I would use less. To keep it sugar free you could use stevia or rice malt syrup.
  • dash of salt

Steps:

  • Preheat oven to 350*F. Bake the nust for 8-10 minutes. This helps the oils come out and create a smoother texture.
  • once baked let cool a few minutes and peel the skins off as they can be bitter. This doesn’t need to be exact. We actually put ours in a jar and shook it a bunch and that was enough! We still had quite a bit of skins left but it came out great.
  • put nuts in the food processor and blend a few minutes until a nice creamy butter is formed
  • add all other ingredients and continue blending until well combined.
  • taste and adjust according to taste buds
  • Share and enjoy!

 

IMG_3782.jpg

 

 

Leave a comment