Homemade Vegan Coconut Yogurt made into Parfaits

Thick, rich and creamy, not only is this yogurt delicious but it is good for the body with it’s probiotics and healthy fats. I have been seeing homemade yogurts for a while now. First at Nouveau Raw, if you have never checked this woman’s blog yet and you are in to raw foods, you MUST go now!!! She is incredible. Her creativity paired with her skill, knowledge and presentation leave me speechless. She is like the Martha Stewart of raw food.

Then I’ve seen this yogurt done several more times. But the one that finally got me doing it is Larice over at Feeding Your Beauty. Larice and I don’t know each other but reading her feels like we have been friends for a while because we seem to feel the same way about raising nutritionally conscientious children and have the same taste in food 🙂  She just made it all look and sounds so simple that I decided it was time for me to give it a go. And I am SO glad I did!!! And so are my kids!

Other than breaking open the coconuts, the yogurt in itself was so quick and simple and came out great the first time!

Will be making this often 🙂

FullSizeRender-109

Here I am showing you the yogurt turned into a delicious morning treat, by layering fresh fruit, a drizzle of honey and some homemade raw grawnola. 

Ingredients for the yogurt:

  • 5 young thai coconuts
  • 2/3 cup of coconut water
  • 2 capsules of probiotics

Steps:

  • open all the coconuts and sac the water aside. Larice shows her step by step system, in her post. Which is slightly different than mine but since hers is photographed you might as well check hers 😉
  • put the young coconut meat in the blender with the water. Blend on high until a rich and creamy consistency is achieved. Add water if you want a slightly thinner yogurt.
  • pour in a bowl, open the probiotic capsules and dump them in. Mix with a wooden spoon.
  • put a towel over it and let it sit somewhere dark and warm for 12-24 hours. I left mine in my unopened, turned off stove.
  • Taste it and if it’s to your liking, eat right away or store int he fridge where it will become a little more tangy.
  • I have no idea how long this will last as we ate the whole batch in one sitting, my little family of 5.

FullSizeRender-110

5 thoughts on “Homemade Vegan Coconut Yogurt made into Parfaits

  1. Gorgeous parfaits! Yum yum yum! thank you for the kind words, you truly are a taste “bud” I always want to try everything you post! So glad you gave it a try and the kiddos approved! Would love to know your method of opening the coconuts, I’m fairly new at it so I’m sure it could be improved upon! 🙂

    • I don’t think my method is any better or easier: I use a hammer and a machete and bang on it like a wild woman til it splits. That’s after making a triangular hole at the top to pour out the water (using machete and hammer there too).

Leave a comment